# SCOTTISH RURAL FUEL POVERTY TASK FORCE TERMS OF REMIT

# 1. Remit

- 1.1. To develop a set of SMART actions which a) would make it significantly easier and more affordable for people living in rural and remote Scotland to keep their homes warm and b) which can be fed into the further development of fuel poverty policy and energy efficiency programmes.
- 1.2. The Task Force will consider issues across all sectors and tenures.
- 1.3. The Task Force will be a one year short life group at the end of which an action paper will be published and the group dissolved.
- 1.4. The work of the Task Force will be taken forward in the spirit of co-production in line with Scottish Housing Event. This will require members, between meetings, to undertake the relevant research and prepare the required papers to feed back to the wider group.

### 2. Membership

- 2.1. The Task Force will be independently chaired by Di Alexander. For the duration of the Task Force, the Chair will become a member of the Scottish Fuel Poverty Forum. The following organisations are suggested members:
  - Chair Di Alexander Rural & Islands Housing Associations' Forum (RIHAF).
  - Vice Chair Bob Grant Changeworks
  - Secretariat Scottish Government

Scottish Association of Landlords
 Scottish Land and Estates
 Citizens' Advice Scotland
 Perth and Kinross Council
 Caroline Elgar
 Sarah Jane Laing
 Kate Morrison
 John Cruickshank

Energy Action Scotland (represent the Existing Homes Alliance Scotland as

well)

• Energy Saving Trust

• Tighean Innse Gall

• Highlands and Islands Enterprise

• Eildon HA

• Lochalsh and Sky HA

• Scottish Rural College

Norrie Kerr

Mike Thornton

Stewart Wilson

Alastair Nicolson

Nile Istephan

Donnie Mackay

Dr Sarah Skerrat

 Home Energy Scotland – Thane Lawrie, SCARF, Bob Grant, Changeworks and Liz Marquis, The Energy Agency

NHS Scotland - Mary MacLean, Fuel Poverty

Coordinator - NHS Western Isles

OFGEM (Observer) Shona Fisher

Ali Energy

Fintry Development Trust

• Rural Housing Scotland

• OIC

• SIC

Dumfries and Galloway Council

Mandie Currie Matthew Black Derek Logie Steven Aberdein Mary Lisk

Chris Wood-Gee

## **Total - 22 members plus Chair and Secretariat**

- 2.2. Utility Companies will be invited to attend specific meetings as required.
- 2.3. Other relevant stakeholder groups will be invited to specific meetings as required

# 3. Secretariat

- 3.1 Scottish Government will provide secretariat with additional support from members where required.
- 3.2 Agenda and papers will be circulated one week in advance of meetings
- 3.3 Minutes of meetings will be circulated to the Fuel Poverty Forum and the Joint Housing Delivery Plan Group.

### 4. Meeting schedule

4.1 Meetings will be held at least every 2 months in a location agreed by the members. It is expected that most will be held in Scottish Government offices. Most meetings will be held in the central belt with at least one being held in Inverness and one in South West Scotland. Video/Teleconference facilities will be made available to minimise the need for travel where possible. Members will be responsible for their own travel costs.

### 5. Decision Making

- 5.1 In the spirit of co-production all members of the Task Force are expected to actively contribute by engaging in discussions at meetings, commenting on papers circulated and by preparing documents and drafting reports.
- 5.2 Sub-groups may be established and dissolved as directed by the Chair. Any subgroup established shall minute their meetings and report back on findings to the Task Force.
- 5.3 Decisions and subsequent actions will be recorded within the notes of the Task Force's meeting.

# 6. <u>Substitutes</u>

6.1 Members unable to attend the Task Force meeting in person should arrange for a substitute to attend with an equivalent level of authority to aid decision making at meetings. This should be communicated to the Group Secretariat in advance of the meeting.