You're viewing our new website - find out more

Equality and Budget Advisory Group

Role of the group

The Equality and Budget Advisory Group (EBAG) is a non-statutory advisory group, convened by the Scottish Government. The group's remit is to help shape our equality approach to the budget.

Specifically, we are working with EBAG to:

  • provide advice on considering the equality implications of budgetary decisions across all policy areas
  • contribute to mapping the pathway between evidence, policy and spend
  • improve the presentation of equality information in the Scottish budget documents
  • contribute to improved commitment to, and awareness of, mainstreaming equality into policy and budget processes

Previous minutes of this group are available on the website.


Scottish Government officials:

  • Yvonne Strachan (Chair), Equality Unit
  • Liz Hawkins, Equality and Tackling Poverty Analysis
  • John Nicholson, Finance Policy
  • Ellie Crawford, Economic Adviser
  • Karen Grieve, Equality Unit

External Members:

  • Chris Oswald, Head of Policy and Communications (Scotland), Equality and Human Rights Commission
  • James Fowlie, COSLA Director (Integration and Development)
  • Angela O'Hagan, Research Fellow, Glasgow Caledonian University/Scottish Women's Budget Group
  • Jim McCormick, Associate Director Scotland, Joseph Rowntree Foundation
  • Lorraine Cook, COSLA Policy Manager (Migration, Population and Diversity)