You're viewing our new website - find out more

Equally Safe in Further and Higher Education Working Group

Role of the group

The Working Group's aims are to:

  • support the adaptation of the Equally Safe in Higher Education Toolkit for use by colleges and support the roll out of the Toolkit across both colleges and universities
  • identify and work on, as appropriate, issues and responses that may need further refinement
  • devise and plan ways to utilise the next Fresher's Weeks and parallel college arrangements, to raise awareness and provide information

Find out more about the Equally Safe Strategy.


  • Ms Shirley- Anne Somerville, MSP Minister for Further Education, Higher Education and Science
  • Mrs Fiona Drouet, #emilytest
  • Gareth Allen, Strategic Lead Higher Education Funding, Governance, and Student Support
  • Steven Paxton, Policy Officer, Directorate of Advanced Learning and Science, Scottish Government
  • James Boyce, Head of College Policy Team, Scottish Government
  • Neil Rennick, Director of Justice, Scottish Government
  • Saira Kapasi, Violence Against Women Justice Lead, Justice Directorate, Scottish Government
  • Ria Phillips, Senior Policy Officer, Violence Against Women, Scottish Government
  • Anni Donaldson, Knowledge Exchange Fellow and Equally Safe in Higher Education Lead, Humanities and Social Sciences, University of Strathclyde
  • Dr Melanie McCarry, University of Strathclyde
  • Kelly Claffey, Equally Safe Higher Education Team, University of Strathclyde
  • Vonnie Sandlan, Senior Policy Officer, Colleges Scotland
  • Nicola McCallum, Colleges Scotland
  • Suzanne Marshall /Sandy McLean, College Development Network
  • Susannah Lane, Head of Public Affairs, Universities Scotland
  • Kathryn Dawson, Rape Crisis Scotland
  • Isabelle Kerr, Rape Crisis Centre, Glasgow
  • Mhairi McGowan, ASSIST, Glasgow
  • Shuwanna Aaron, NUS Scotland, Women's Officer
  • Jenny Lees, Campaigns and Engagement Manager, NUS Scotland
  • Anne-Marie Hicks, Crown Office and Procurator Fiscal Service
  • Marie-Claire Chaffey, Senior Procurator Fiscal Depute, Crown Office and Procurator Fiscal Service
  • Detective Inspector Julie Marshall, Police Scotland
  • Detective Superintendent Stuart Houston, Police Scotland
  • Detective Chief Inspector Rory Hamilton, Police Scotland
  • Scott Anderson, HM Inspector, Education Scotland
  • Dr Matson Lawrence, Scottish Funding Council
  • Roseanna Macdonald, Scottish Women's Aid
  • Professor Ferdinand von Prondzynski, Principal, Robert Gordon University
  • Jill Stevenson, AMOSSHE, student services organisation - Association of Managers of Student Services in Higher Education
  • Heather Dunk, Principal, Ayrshire College
  • Pam Currie, Educational Institute of Scotland
  • Davena Rankin, Unison
  • Kay Steven, Advance HE