You're viewing our new website - find out more


Celebrating science stars

Published: 12 Nov 2015 14:29
Part of:

Awards presented to 27 talented young people.

Scotland's leading science bodies joined together to honour the next generation of talented scientists at a ceremony at Our Dynamic Earth in Edinburgh on Wednesday night.

The Education Secretary Angela Constance presented the awards on behalf of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, the Royal Society of Chemistry, the Institute of Physics, the Royal Society for Biology and the Royal Scottish Society of the Arts (for Technical Studies).

Ms Constance said: "If we are to continue to build on Scotland's rightly deserved reputation as a powerhouse in science and innovation, it is important that we recognise and nurture the talent coming through our schools. We know the demand for skilled engineers, researchers and scientists in this country is high and we need to show our young people the opportunities that careers in these areas offer.

"The young women and men winning these awards come from schools across Scotland. I am really delighted to see prizes going to students who have gone on to go to both university and college. It is a reflection of the different pathways into science and engineering that our young people now have."

Minister for Science Alasdair Allan addressed the Science and the Parliament 2015 conference earlier in the day.

Dr Allan added:

"In the last eight years, the number of entries in science, technology, engineering and maths related subjects at Higher has gone up 12 per cent. That is a significant achievement and will help support our future technology and engineering sector which generates a turnover of £24.4 billion each year and employs 155,000 people in total.

"I would like to congratulate all award winners. It was also an excellent opportunity to learn about how they were inspired to pursue STEM subjects so we can encourage even more young people to follow in their footsteps."

Heather McFarlane, Programme Manager Scotland , Royal Society of Chemistry added:

"The Royal Society of Chemistry is delighted to host the annual Science in the Parliament event and present awards to inspiring young scientists. Awards went to those who achieved the top marks in their Highers and Advanced Highers in Biology, Physics and Chemistry. The Royal Society of Chemistry is committed to supporting learners and teachers across Scotland and these awards support the young minds that will tackle the health, economic and environmental challenges of the future."


Royal Society of Edinburgh & BP Hutton Prize in Energy Innovation

Cairong Jiang (University of St Andrews, School of Chemistry)

Royal Society of Chemistry

Chemistry Higher: Clinton Igwegbu (Westhill Academy, Aberdeenshire)

Chemistry New Higher: Daniel Johnstone (James Young High School, Livingston)

Chemistry (Revised) Higher: YuGeng Zhang (George Heriot's School, Edinburgh)

Chemistry Advanced Higher Investigation: Lucy Illingworth (Wellington School, Ayr)

Chemistry Advanced Higher: Lauren Crossley (Notre Dame High School, Glasgow)

Chemistry (Revised) Advanced Higher: Rachel Fox (George Watson's College, Edinburgh)

Institute of Physics

Physics Higher: Brian Karakus (St Thomas Aquinas Secondary School)

Physics (Revised) Higher: YuGeng Zhang (George Heriot's School, Edinburgh)

Physics New Higher: Mira C Sriram (the High School of Glasgow)

Physics Advanced Higher: Jonathan Mortlock (St Jopseph's College)

Physics (Revised) Advanced Higher: Joint winners:

Euan Miles (North Berwick High School)

Zoe Mack-Smith (George Watson's College, Edinburgh) (unable to attend)

Royal Society of Biology

Biology Higher: Jack L Bauchop (St Modan's High School)

Biology Advanced Higher: Elaine Duncan (Hutchesons' Grammar School)

Biology Advanced Higher: Rachel E McLeod (Balerno Community High School)

Biology Advanced Higher: Karen T Hase (Ellon Academy)

Biology New Higher: Gregor N Duncan (Cults Academy)

Biology (Revised) Higher: Rebecca Poon (George Watson's College)

Biology (Revised) Advanced Higher: Sophie B Nash (Stirling High School)

Biology (Revised) Advanced Higher: Zenab Ali (Miss) & Brandon C F Shek (James Gillespie's High School)

Human Biology Higher: Baran Karakus (Mr) (St Thomas Aquinas Secondary School)

Human Biology New Higher: Gordon McNicol (Paisley Grammar School)

Human Biology (Revised) Higher: Rachel A Imray (Culloden Academy)

Biotechnology Higher: Emma Ewen (Perth College)

Royal Scottish Society of Arts

Higher Technological Studies: Michael Hain (Hutchesons' Grammar School, Glasgow)

Notes to editors

Maths, Physics, Chemistry and Biology are among the 6 most popular subjects at school. This year saw a total of 43,732 passes at Higher across all key STEM subjects. Since 2007, the number of Higher entries in STEM subjects has increased by 12% and passes have risen by 15% over the same period.

Images of the winners are available from the Royal Society of Edinburgh by contacting Bristow Muldoon on or 0131240 2787.