You're viewing our new website - find out more

Publication - Report

Commission on the Delivery of Rural Education: report

Published: 19 Apr 2013
Part of:

The independent commission on the Delivery of Rural Education was established by the Scottish Government and COSLA in July 2011. This Report makes recommendations on the delivery of all aspects of education in rural areas.

70 page PDF


70 page PDF


Commission on the Delivery of Rural Education: report
Annex: Commission members

70 page PDF


Annex: Commission members

Sheriff David O Sutherland (Chair)

Professor Cara Aitchison - Head of Moray House School of Education, University of Edinburgh

Anne Baird - Argyll Rural Schools Network

Charles Bestwick - Scottish Rural Schools Network

Ann Brady - Chief Executive, Care and Learning Alliance

Malcolm Burr - Comhairle nan Eilean Siar, representing SOLACE (Society of Local Authority Chief Executives)

Peter Ferguson - Headteacher of Auchterhouse Primary School, Angus

James Fraser - Vice-Chancellor of the University of the Highlands and Islands

Councillor Stephen Hagan (Orkney Council)

Councillor Terry Loughran (Inverclyde Council)

Councillor Peter MacKenzie (East Lothian)

Councillor Anne Robertson (Aberdeenshire Council)

Glenn Rodger - Scottish Borders Council, representing ADES (Association of Directors of Education in Scotland)

Emily Shaw - Member of Scottish Youth Parliament for Shetland

Professor Bill Slee - James Hutton Institute

Jenna Storey - National Parent Forum of Scotland


Bob Cree-Hay, National Parent Forum of Scotland (resigned March 2012)

Sandy Longmuir, Scottish Rural Schools Network (resigned November 2011)