beta

You're viewing our new website - find out more

Publication - FOI / EIR Release

Meeting with Association of Palestinian Communities in Scotland: FOI review

Published: 28 Jul 2017

Information request and response under the Freedom of Information (Scotland) Act 2002.

FOI reference: FOI/17/01389 - review
Date received: 30 June 2017
Date responded: 26 July 2017

Information requested

Meeting 16 June 2015

  • At this meeting, commitments were made by Dr Allan on behalf of the Scottish Government. There is no mention of Dr Allan promising that the Palestinian story would be told or that he instructed Education Scotland to give support.

  • A review is requested to ensure an accurate record of the meeting.

Meeting 14 December 2016

Considering the improbability of the absence of notes for:

  • a meeting attended by Depute First Minister, John Swinney

  • meeting where there is an expectation of decisions being taken (and appropriately recorded)

  • a meeting where decisions were taken (and should have been recorded)

  • a meeting where the subject matter under discussion has been deemed 'sensitive'

A review is urged to determine the whereabouts of the recorded notes.

Response

I have concluded that the original response of 29 June 2017 should be confirmed with a modification.

Having contacted those involved in both meetings and having enquired as to what searches for information relating to your request had been undertaken, I am satisfied that the note of the meeting of 16 June 2015 (already shared with you) is the only record of that meeting that Education Scotland holds.

I am also satisfied that no filenote or actions note is held of the meeting of 14 December 2016.

However, I do not believe the document shared previously with you should have been redacted as section 38(1) of FOISA does not apply. Accordingly I am attaching an unredacted copy of the document.

About FOI

The Scottish Government is committed to publishing all information released in response to Freedom of Information requests. View all FOI responses at http://www.gov.scot/foi-responses

Contact

Please quote the FOI reference

Central Enquiry Unit
Email: ceu@gov.scot
Phone: 0300 244 4000

The Scottish Government
St Andrew's House
Regent Road
Edinburgh
EH1 3DG

Published:
28 Jul 2017
Meeting with Association of Palestinian Communities in Scotland: FOI review