beta

You're viewing our new website - find out more

Publication - Guidance

Healthy eating in schools: guidance

Published: 17 Sep 2008
Part of:
Education
ISBN:
9780755958306

A guide to implementing the Nutritional Requirements for Food and Drink in Schools (Scotland) Regulations 2008.

92 page PDF

367.7kB

92 page PDF

367.7kB

Contents
Healthy eating in schools: guidance
Annex 3: General guidance on food for religious faiths and beliefs

92 page PDF

367.7kB

Annex 3: General guidance on food for religious faiths and beliefs

Families and children may choose to exclude, include, or prepare foods in a particular way according to their religious faith and beliefs. The table below is only a general guide of food choices for specific religious groups. Some families and children within these faith groups may not observe the dietary practises stated below. Prohibitions and restrictions even within a particular faith may change between denominations or branches. Please do not take this as an authoritative list.

Meat

Poultry

Fish and Shellfish

Dairy Products

Eggs

Fruit and Vegetables

Miscellaneous

Fasting

Buddhist

Many are vegetarian but some may eat fish.

Some may be vegan.

Some may exclude

Yes

Diet will vary depending on country of origin

Yes

Hindu

Most are vegetarian. Dairy is generally acceptable.

Those who eat meat, poultry, and fish will exclude beef.

Some may be vegan.

Some may exclude

Yes

Strict Hindus also exclude:

tea & coffee

Yes

Jewish

Pork and pork products are excluded.

Kosher beef, lamb, poultry and, fish (with fins and scales) are eaten. Shellfish is not eaten.

Meat and dairy are never eaten at the same meal. Dairy may not be eaten until 3 hours after meat or poultry.

Eggs can be eaten without blood spots

Yes

Will also exclude:

gelatin, fats, emulsifiers, stabilisers, and additives from animal origin that is not kosher

Yes

Muslim

Pork and pork products are excluded.

Halal beef, lamb, poultry and, fish are eaten.

Dairy products are eaten by most.

Yes

Yes

Will also exclude:

gelatin, fats, emulsifiers, stabilisers, and additives from animal origin that is not halal

Yes

Sikh

Many are vegetarian.

Those who eat meat, poultry and, fish will exclude beef and possibly pork.

Halal and kosher meat are not eaten.

Some may exclude

Yes

No

Rastafarian

Pork and pork products are excluded.

Many will be vegetarian.

Some may be vegan.

Some may exclude

Yes

Prefer to eat a pure and natural diet so may exclude: coffee, canned or non-organic foods

Yes

Sources:

www.faithandfood.com

www.kosher.org.uk

www.hinduwebsite.com

www.muslimhealthnetwork.org

www.equality.leeds.ac.uk/ed/information/belief/religions/

www.youthinformation.com

Handbook on Cultural, spiritual and religious beliefs. South Devon Healthcare NHS Trust, March 2000.

Understanding Ethnic Communities, Telford & Wrekin NHS Primary Care Trust and Telford & Wrekin Borough Council.

Cultural Diversity: A resource booklet on religious and cultural observance, belief, language and naming systems, Diversity and Equal Opportunities Team, HM Land Registry, 2001.

Wirral Ethnic Health Advisory Group, Information and Resource File, June 2003.

Faith Guide, Huntingdonshire District Council, 2004.

Check Up - A guide to the special healthcare needs of ethnic-religious minority communities, Diversiton & Northern Ireland Inter-faith Forum, 2005.

Faith Communities Toolkit; for Leaders and Managers in the learning and skills sector, Faith Regen UK, Nov 2005.


Contact

Email: Lynne Carter lynne.carter@gov.scot