beta

You're viewing our new website - find out more

Publication - Statistics publication

Scotland's equality evidence strategy 2017-2021

Published: 18 Jul 2017
Directorate:
Housing and Social Justice Directorate
Part of:
Equality and rights, Statistics
ISBN:
9781788511131

Describes the Scottish Government’s approach to strengthening Scotland’s equality evidence base.

41 page PDF

3.2 MB

41 page PDF

3.2 MB

Contents
Scotland's equality evidence strategy 2017-2021
Footnotes

41 page PDF

3.2 MB

Footnotes

1 Is Scotland Fairer https://www.equalityhumanrights.com/en/britain-fairer/scotland-fairer-introduction/scotland-fairer-report

2 Fairer Scotland Action Plan http://www.gov.scot/publications/fairer-scotland-action-plan//0

3 Race Equality Framework http://www.gov.scot/publications/race-equality-framework-scotland-2016-2030//0

4 A Fairer Scotland for Disabled People http://www.gov.scot/Publications/2016/12/3778/3

5 Equality Budget Statement http://www.gov.scot/Publications/2016/12/8841/0

6 National Performance Framework http://www.gov.scot/About/Performance/scotPerforms

7 EHRC - Protected Characteristics https://www.equalityhumanrights.com/en/equality-act/protected-characteristics

8 Equality Evidence Finder http://www.gov.scot/Topics/People/Equality/Equalities/DataGrid

9 UK's first measure of socio economic background https://www.gov.uk/government/news/next-steps-for-uks-first-national-measure-of-socio-economic-background

10 New Social Mobility Measures https://www.gov.uk/government/news/civil-service-pilots-new-social-mobility-measures

11 Definition taken from EBS http://www.gov.scot/Publications/2016/12/8841/3

12 Scotland's Census http://www.scotlandscensus.gov.uk/

13 Overview of Equality Results from the 2011 Census Release 2 (2014) http://www.gov.scot/Publications/2014/03/7340

14 Analysis of Equality Results from the 2011 Census (2014) http://www.gov.scot/Publications/2014/10/8378

15 Analysis of Equality Results from the 2011 Census - Part 2 (2015) http://www.gov.scot/Publications/2015/03/8716

16 Gypsy/Travellers in Scotland - A Comprehensive Analysis of the 2011 Census (2015) http://www.gov.scot/Publications/2015/12/5103

17 Scotland's Census 2021 Topic Consultation Report http://www.scotlandscensus.gov.uk/documents/census2021/Scotlands_Census_2021_Topic_Consultation_Report_August_2016.pdf

18 Scottish Survey Core Questions ( SSCQ) http://www.gov.scot/Topics/Statistics/About/Surveys/SSCQ

19 Sexual Orientation in Scotland 2017 - A Summary of the Evidence Base: http://www.gov.scot/Publications/2017/01/4911/0

20 Subnational sexual identity estimates, UK: 2013 to 2015: https://www.ons.gov.uk/peoplepopulationandcommunity/culturalidentity/sexuality/articles/subnationalsexualidentityestimates/uk2013to2015

21 Annual Population Survey: http://www.gov.scot/Topics/Statistics/Browse/Labour-Market/Publications

22 Scottish Household Survey: http://www.gov.scot/publications/scotlands-people-results-2015-scottish-household-survey//0

23 Scottish Crime and Justice Survey http://www.gov.scot/Topics/Statistics/Browse/Crime-Justice/crime-and-justice-survey

24 Scottish Health Survey: http://www.gov.scot/Topics/Statistics/Browse/Health/scottish-health-survey

25 Pupil Census http://www.gov.scot/Topics/Statistics/Browse/School-Education/PubPupilCensus

26 Scottish Funding Council http://www.sfc.ac.uk/statistics/statistics.aspx

27 ISD Scotland http://www.isdscotland.org/

28 Measuring Use of Health Service by Equality Groups https://www.isdscotland.org/Health-Topics/Equality-and-Diversity/Publications/2017-06-27/2017-06-27-Measuring-Use-of-Health-Services-by-Equality-Group-Summary.pdf?98064821959

29 ISD Equality Evidence Finder http://www.isdscotland.org/Health-Topics/Equality-and-Diversity/Equality-Evidence-Finder/

30 Scotland's Labour Market Strategy http://www.gov.scot/Publications/2016/08/2505

31 SSA 2014: Attitudes to Violence Against Women http://www.gov.scot/Publications/2015/11/5577

32 SSA 2015: Attitudes to Discrimination and Positive Action http://www.gov.scot/publications/scottish-social-attitudes-2015-attitudes-discrimination-positive-action/

33 Equality and Human Rights Commission https://www.equalityhumanrights.com/en

34 Is Scotland Fairer https://www.equalityhumanrights.com/en/britain-fairer/scotland-fairer-introduction/scotland-fairer-report

35 Human Rights Indicator Framework http://www.ohchr.org/EN/Issues/Indicators/Pages/HRIndicatorsIndex.aspx

36 EHRC Measurement Framework Consultation: https://www.equalityhumanrights.com/en/our-measurement-framework/measurement-framework-consultation

37 Equality Evidence Toolkit for Public Authorities http://www.gov.scot/Publications/2015/03/6567

38 Equality Outcomes and Mainstreaming Report 2017 http://www.gov.scot/Resource/0051/00517333.pdf

39 Statistics.gov.scot http://statistics.gov.scot/

40 Race Equality Framework for Scotland 2016-2030 http://www.gov.scot/publications/race-equality-framework-scotland-2016-2030/

41 a. Community Cohesion and Safety Evidence Paper
b. Participation and Representation Evidence Paper
c. Education, Employment and Income Evidence Paper
d. Health, Wellbeing, Family and Home Evidence Paper
http://www.crer.scot/race-equality-framework-for-scotland

42 Annual Survey of Hours and Earnings ( ASHE) https://www.ons.gov.uk/employmentandlabourmarket/peopleinwork/earningsandworkinghours/bulletins/annualsurveyofhoursandearnings/previousReleases

43 Self-Directed Support Scotland http://www.selfdirectedsupportscotland.org.uk/self-directed-support

44 BEMIS report on Poverty and Ethnicity http://bemis.org.uk/PDF/bemis-poverty-and-ethnicity.pdf

45 Social Tenants in Scotland, 2015 http://www.gov.scot/Publications/2017/02/8350

46 Scottish Housing Regulator https://www.scottishhousingregulator.gov.uk/sites/default/files/publications/GypsyTravellers%20in%20Scotland.pdf

47 Mapping the Roma Community in Scotland http://www.migrationscotland.org.uk/uploads/files/documents/mappingtheromacommunityinscotlandreport-2.pdf

48 Runnymede - Race Matters http://www.runnymedetrust.org/blog/where-are-all-the-bme-councillors

49 First New Scots Strategy (2014-17) http://www.gov.scot/Publications/2017/03/6904/0

50 Dialogue: Religion and Belief Relations in Scotland: Good Practice Guide http://www.gov.scot/Publications/2011/03/22143221/0

51 SSA 2015 Attitudes to Discrimination and Positive Action http://www.ssa.natcen.ac.uk/media/38903/attitudes-to-discrimination-and-positive-action-2015.pdf

52 Scottish Muslims in Numbers http://www.ed.ac.uk/literatures-languages-cultures/alwaleed/muslims-in-britain/scottish-muslims-in-numbers

53 Religiously Aggravated Offending in Scotland 2016-17 http://www.gov.scot/publications/religiously-aggravated-offending-scotland-2016-2017/

54 What Scotland Thinks http://whatscotlandthinks.org/

55 Households Below Average Income https://www.gov.uk/government/collections/households-below-average-income-hbai--2

56 Equal Opportunities Committee http://www.parliament.scot/parliamentarybusiness/CurrentCommittees/85810.aspx

57 Drink Wise Age Well http://drinkwiseagewell.org.uk/

58 Employment Equality (Repeal of Retirement Age Provisions) Regulations 2011 http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2011/9780111507735/regulation/4

59 An Investigation of Pensioner Employment http://www.gov.scot/Publications/2016/06/8819

60 CDC ACE Study https://www.cdc.gov/violenceprevention/acestudy/about.html

61 2016 Scottish Public Health Network ( ScotPHN) report https://www.scotphn.net/wp-content/uploads/2016/06/2016_05_26-ACE-Report-Final-AF.pdf

62 Growing up in Scotland http://growingupinscotland.org.uk/

63 Independent Advisor on Poverty and Inequality - The Life Chances of Young People in Scotland http://www.gov.scot/publications/independent-advisor-poverty-inequality-life-chances-young-people-scotland-report/

64 The Life Chances of Young People in Scotland - Evidence Review http://www.gov.scot/publications/life-chances-young-people-scotland-evidence-review-first-ministers-independent/

65 A Fairer Scotland for Disabled People http://www.gov.scot/Publications/2016/12/3778/3

66 A Fairer Scotland for Disabled People http://www.gov.scot/Resource/0051/00510948.pdf

67 SCOPE - Current Attitudes towards disabled people: http://www.scope.org.uk/Scope/media/Images/Publication%20Directory/Current-attitudes-towards-disabled-people.pdf

68 SG Consultation on Draft BSL National Plan http://www.gov.scot/Publications/2017/03/3084

69 British Sign Language ( BSL) National Plan Consultation http://www.gov.scot/Publications/2017/03/7548

70 Analysis of results from 2011 Census http://www.gov.scot/Publications/2014/10/8378/7 and http://www.gov.scot/Publications/2015/03/8716/6

71 Scottish Council on Deafness http://www.scod.org.uk/faqs/statistics/

72 EIGE http://eige.europa.eu/

73 Pregnancy and Maternity Discrimination in the Workplace: Recommendations for Change https://www.equalityhumanrights.com/en/managing-pregnancy-and-maternity-workplace/pregnancy-and-maternity-discrimination-research-findings

74 National Performance Framework http://www.gov.scot/Resource/0049/00497339.pdf

75 The Gender Pay Gap in Scotland http://www.gov.scot/Publications/2017/03/5882

76 Gender Pay Gap Trends and Drivers http://www.gov.scot/Publications/2016/06/4807

77 Understanding Society https://www.understandingsociety.ac.uk/

78 The Timewise partnership http://timewise.co.uk/what-we-do/partnerships/

79 Equally Safe http://www.gov.scot/publications/equally-safe/

80 Consultation on Equally Safe: https://consult.scotland.gov.uk/violence-against-women-team/equally-safe/consult_view/

81 Tribunals and Gender Recognition Certificate Statistics: https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/528233/tribunals-commentary.pdf

82 when a person has a gender identity which does not match their biological identity.

83 Equality Network http://www.equality-network.org/

84 LGBT Youth Education Report https://www.lgbtyouth.org.uk/files/documents/Life_in_Scotland_for_LGBT_Young_People_-_Education_Report_NEW.pdf

85 Homophobic Bullying in Britain's Schools https://www.stonewall.org.uk/sites/default/files/teachers_report_2014.pdf

86 Guidance on Including LGBTI people in services http://www.equality-network.org/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/III-booklet.pdf

87 Scottish Government Statistics http://www.gov.scot/Topics/Statistics

88 Statistics.gov.scot http://statistics.gov.scot/

89 Code of Practice for Official Statistics: https://www.statisticsauthority.gov.uk/osr/code-of-practice/

90 Digital Economy Act http://services.parliament.uk/bills/2016-17/digitaleconomy/documents.html

91 Review of SSCQ http://www.gov.scot/Topics/Statistics/About/Surveys/SSCQ

92 Guiding Principles for Data Linkage http://www.gov.scot/Publications/2012/11/9015

93 Scottish Health and Ethnicity Linkage Study http://www.ed.ac.uk/usher/scottish-health-ethnicity-linkage/what-is-shels

94 Poverty in Scotland http://www.gov.scot/Publications/2015/06/3637

95 ScotStat http://www.gov.scot/Topics/Statistics/scotstat

96 SG Equality and Poverty Twitter channel https://twitter.com/EqualityPoverty


Contact

Email: Jon Hunter, jon.hunter@gov.scot

Phone: 0300 244 4000 – Central Enquiry Unit

The Scottish Government
St Andrew's House
Regent Road
Edinburgh
EH1 3DG